destination india

Monday, January 02, 2006

the taj mahal is shortlisted

In one of the posts on ‘Rediscovering India’ I had mentioned about an exercise being carried out to search for a set of seven new wonders because, only one out of the original seven remain intact today.

The seven wonders identified till date were the lighthouse at Alexandria, the temple of Artemis, the statue of Zeus, the Colossus of Rhodes, the mausoleum of Halicarnassus, the hanging gardens of Babylon and the Egyptian pyramids. All were built between 2500 BC and 200 BC. Only the Pyramids remain at Giza. Bernard Weber has initiated an exercise to find out which monuments should appear in the new list.

Based on the initial survey and votes polled, a short list of 21 has now been arrived at – our very own Taj Mahal figures in the list but not any of the temples. These 21 are as follows –

Acropolis, Athens, Greece
Alhambra, Granada, Spain
Angkor, Cambodia
Chichen, Itza, Yucatan, Mexico
Christ, Redeemer Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Colosseum, Rome, Italy
Easter Island Statues, Chile
Eiffel Tower Paris, France
Great Wall, China
Hagia Sophia Istanbul, Turkey
Kyomizu Temple Kyoto, Japan
Kremlin Moscow, Russia
Machu Picchu Peru
Neuschwanstein Castle Füssen, Germany
Petra Jordan
Pyramids of Giza Egypt
Statue of Liberty New York, USA
Stonehenge Amesbury, United Kingdom
Sydney Opera House Australia
Taj Mahal, Agra India
Timbuktu Mali

Voting has already begun and, those interested can visit the website to cast his vote. The final list will be declared on 1st January 2007. For voting please follow the link -


Post a Comment

<< Home